Sometimes you may need to update credentials for the staff using PermitManager in your organisation. In order to update the User credentials, you must be an Administrator. To access, click on the Users tab along the top of the dashboard screen:
Use the following list to jump to each section:
- Adding new Users
- Editing User permissions
- Updating User signatures
- Locking User accounts
- Expiring passwords
Adding new Users
After opening the Users window, you will be presented with a list of current users. To add a new user, click the Add User button to the top right of this list:
On the right-hand side of the screen, the User Info panel will appear. Enter the relevant Username, Group/Role and contact details for the new user, then click Save at the bottom right to create the account:
The new user will now appear on the list of users. They will receive a confirmation email for the registration, with a validation link to verify their account. After this, they will be able to nominate a password for themselves and log in to PermitManager.
After creating a new user, management of their contact details falls to the user themselves - their contact information cannot be edited by Administrators on this screen, nor are Admins ever privy to users' passwords.
Editing User permissions (groups/roles)
After opening the Users window, you will be able to see a list of current users. To change a user's group/role, click on the relevant user to load their details on the right-hand side of the screen. At the top next to their name will be a drop-down box where you can select their role:
- User: user with ability to manage permit requests and their own contact details
- Data Viewer: user with ability to log in and view permit details, but not progress them
- Notification: user who is notified whenever a new permit is created
- Admin: high-level user who can manage permits, and alter PermitManager settings
Updating User signatures
After opening the Users window, you will be able to see a list of current users. To update a user's signature, click on the relevant user to load their details on the right-hand side of the screen. Below their contact details, click the Change Signature button. A pop-up will appear where you can choose the image file from where it is saved on your PC (supported file types include .jpg, .jpeg, .gif, .bmp, .png, .wmf). Click Upload to save the signature:
This signature will be used in conjunction with an signatures the user has loaded in themselves; it will not replace an existing signature.
Locking User accounts
If a user leaves the council, Admins can lock their account so they are unable to log in and access the service anymore. Users are not "deleted" outright, for historical reasons (seeing who completed past requests, etc.).
After opening the Users window, select the relevant user from the list to load their details on the right-hand side of the screen. Under the Update Credential Info section, click the Lock? button:
If required, this action can be reversed later on; the Lock? button will change to Unlock? if an account is disabled, so the user can be reactivated if needed.
Admins may wish to expire a user's password - this is useful if the user has forgotten their password, or if your organisation has a requirement that passwords be changed at regular intervals.
After opening the Users window, select the relevant user from the list to load their details on the right-hand side of the screen. Under the Update Credential Info section, click the Expire? button:
The message will change to say "This user's password is expired". The next time they attempt to log in, they will be prompted to crate a new password before they can access PermitManager: